Posted in Wine, Woodworking

DIY Wine Rack

I came across a wall mounted wine rack at “That Fine French Store” and fell in love with it.  The only problem was the $49.99 price tag.  It just seemed too much for such a simple thing and I figured there had to be a cheaper way.  After searching the internet, I found the viable option.  Here’s my build of a Wine Rack from diypete.com.

IMG_2113

 

As you can see by the needed cut pieces above, there’s not much to this build.  I had all the scrap wood needed but buying what you need at your local store is only going to run you $15.00.  Far superior to the $49.99 price tag to have someone else make it .

IMG_2114

I used paint cans to draw my curves on the 2×4’s and then pulled out my trusty jigsaw.  These 3 pieces are the main support.

IMG_2115

The most involved piece was making the stemware holder, but that’s only because it had about as many cuts in it as the entire project.

IMG_2116

I joined the bottom piece to the longer 2×4’s with pocket holes and 1 1/2″  screws.

IMG_2117

The center support attached with 3″ screws.  If you decide to make this, don’t forget to drill pilot holes to preventing the wood from splitting.

IMG_2118

Using wood glue and my favorite tool, my Porter Cable Nailer, I attached three of the 1×4 pieces to make the back.

IMG_2119

The remaining length of 1×4 was attached to the front side to keep my wine bottles safe and secure.

IMG_2120

The little 2″ pieces of 1×4 are attached to allow the needed space for your stemware.

IMG_2121

Now the stemware piece gets attached to the 2″ pieces.

IMG_2122 (Edited)

Here’s my finished product laying in my clover filled yard waiting for a finish.

IMG_2123

I grew up in and live in the suburbs but I do love country style housing and furniture.  I chose a vintage aqua stain for my wine rack.  Holds 6 glasses and 8 bottles of wine.  Fun day in the shop

Leave a Reply

